Do you know an OrHIMA member who you would like to nominate for the OrHIMA Distinguished Member Award?

Nominees for the Distinguished Member Award must be an AHIMA/OrHIMA member in good standing and must meet at least two of the following criteria:

  • Fifteen years’ service as an active HIM practitioner
  • At least ten years’ service to OrHIMA and/or AHIMA, i.e., officer, director, committee chairman, project manager or member, delegate to the AHIMA House of Delegates;
  • A contribution to the HIM profession in any of the following: Publication, Education, Systems Design, Public Relations, Research, Advocacy, etc.

Nominations may be submitted to me electronically and must include the reasons substantiating why the person is being nominated. Consider fellow OrHIMA members you have worked or served with; that one person in the industry who took the time to mentor you and encourage your professional development; that educator who assisted you and fostered your desire for lifetime learning; that one person who was instrumental in assisting you in landing that first HIM position.

Please email OrHIMA President-Elect Lynn Edwards at

Past Distinguished Member Award Recipients

2015: Bonnie Altus, MS, RHIA, CHPS
2014: Dana Brown, RHIA, CHC
2009: Esther Wyatt, RHIA
2008: Pam Yokubaitis, MPH, RHIA, FAHIMA
2006: Beverlee Jackson, RHIT
2005: Kathy Phillips, RHIA
2003: Emily Wieczorek, MEd, RHIA
2001: Gloria Ahern, RHIA
2000: Diane Davis, RHIA
1999: Cheri Adams, RHIA
1998: Nona DeDual, RHIT
1997: Linda Duke, RHIA
1996: Yvonne Gergen, RHIA
1995: Piper Hooper, RHIT
1994: Patrice Spath, RHIT